Mashed Cauliflower tastes so much more delicious than mashed potatoes

A few days ago, I still had a cauliflower in the fridge and was looking for a side dish to prepare.

That’s when I read about mashed cauliflower, and absolutely liked the idea.

Before that day, we often had mashed potatoes as a side dish, but I read about nightshades not being too good for one’s health, and so I was happy to have an alternative to try.

Another great advantage is, that the cauliflower takes much less time to cook than the potatoes, so for me that’s 2:0 for the cauliflower.

The recipe isn’t very complicated and quite fast to prepare. Besides the already described advantage, you can also reheat the mashed cauliflower and it tends to burn much less than it’s potato-made relative.

So we’re at 3:0 for the cauliflower!

But let’s get started with the recipe:

Ingredients (as a side dish for 3 persons):

  • 2 small or 1 big head of cauliflower
  • 2 big or 4 small cloves of garlic
  • 75 ml coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoons of butter or margarine
  • Salt, pepper and nutmeg to taste
  • Parsley for decoration

Preparation:

Wash the cauliflower and cut it into small florets. Fill a big enough pot with water, add a bit of salt and the cauliflower. Peel and crush the garlic cloves and add them to the water, too.

Bring everything to a boil and cook the cauliflower florets and garlic cloves until they are tender. This should take about 10 minutes but depends a lot on the size of your florets.

Drain the cauliflower florets and the garlic cloves with the help of a sieve and let all the excess water drip off.

Fill the cauliflower florets and the garlic cloves into a pot, add the coconut milk, nutmeg, salt and pepper and blend everything with an immersion blender until it is smooth. I really like the taste of the nutmeg, so I add quite a lot of it, but it’s up to you how many spices you add.

Turn on low heat and stir the mashed cauliflower to heat it but prevent it from burning to the bottom of the pan.

Serve, add a teaspoon of butter per portion, drizzle with parsley and enjoy!

We had the mashed cauliflower as a side dish for our grilled chicken skewers and it tasted absolutely great!

Have you ever tried mashed cauliflower?
If so, what is your opinion about it?
Which one do you prefer? Mashed potatoes or mashed cauliflower?

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Monch Weller says:

    Fantastic! 😀 I’ve tried a version of this before — cauliflower rice. It’s less carbohydrate-laden compared to regular rice, but is filling just the same.

    Now I have an idea what to do with the broccoli we have here at home!

    Like

    1. Livia says:

      Let me know how it worked with the broccoli, ya? I‘m curious to know. 😊👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Monch Weller says:

        Well, it didn’t end up with the consistency of rice as I had to chop the florets into little bits. I peeled the stalks and grated them so that they’re easier to cook. 🥦

        Nevertheless, it did work as a good rice substitute! We had it for an early lunch, and we were still full about four hours later! 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Livia says:

        Oh, you also cooked the stalks. A good idea indeed to grate them. 🤩 I‘ll surely keep that in mind when I prepare broccoli the next time.
        I never like throwing the stalks away because especially with broccoli, here in Bali the stalk makes up more than 2/3 of the whole vegetable. With cauliflower it‘s different and they have just short stalks but the broccoli is crazy. I sometimes cut them in small pieces but they take a long time to cook.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Monch Weller says:

        The longer cooking time for the stalks actually contributed to my decision to grate them hehe 😅 And the leftover stalks can be chopped into small bits, so nothing is wasted!

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Livia says:

        Ya, in fact, I also prefer not to waste anything but I never came up with the idea to grate them. Thanks a lot for sharing this hint. 🤩👍

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Monch Weller says:

        No problem! I’ll post the recipe here soon 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Livia says:

        I’m looking forward to it! 🤩

        Liked by 1 person

      7. Livia says:

        The satiability of the mashed cauliflower also surprised me. I used to use potatoes because I thought they would stuff you more but it‘s quite the opposite. 😊👍

        Liked by 1 person

      8. Monch Weller says:

        The problem with potatoes is their carbohydrate content; not exactly a good option for those with blood sugar issues. ☹️

        Liked by 1 person

      9. Livia says:

        Ya, I read about that for the first time some time ago. It seems that especially when they are mashed, it’s even worse. 😣
        So I’m even more happy to have found a delicious substitute with the cauliflower. 😁

        Liked by 1 person

      10. Monch Weller says:

        I replied to you about this a few days ago 😮 Might have been sent to spam though…

        Like

      11. Livia says:

        I actually just received your last comment. Maybe because I had troubles with the internet or because I forgot to update the WordPress app for quite a while. Sorry. 😬

        Liked by 1 person

      12. Monch Weller says:

        It’s fine, no problem 😊

        Liked by 1 person

      13. Livia says:

        It‘s actually really weird because whenever I open the notifications in WordPress, I first scroll to the bottom to be sure to not miss anything. 🤔

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanooki says:

    Oh wow mashed cauliflower!? I never tried it before…thanks for the inspiration and gorgeous recipe👍💕✨ I’d definitely going to try it😋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Thank you for your kind comment, dear Tanooki 🙏😊 Let me know when you’ve tried the mashed cauliflower, I‘m looking forward to reading if you liked it. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment