Go Nuts and Bananas with this quickly prepared Banana Coconut Cake

I still had a few very ripe bananas in the fridge, and when my flying vegetable vendor brought me freshly grated coconut, I decided to turn both into a delicious Banana Coconut Cake.

The cake is prepared within a few minutes, and tastes delicious!

Let’s have a slice of banana coconut cake with our coffee
Let’s have a slice of banana coconut cake with our coffee

Let’s have a look at what I used besides bananas and grated coconut:

Ingredients (for a cake pan of 10 × 20 cm):

  • 120 g all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 pinches of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla powder
  • 150 g freshly grated coconut*
  • 60 g margarine
  • 75 g sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 bananas

* I always have freshly grated coconut available around here, so I don’t use the desiccated one, but I think it should work well, too. Since the freshly grated coconut is quite humid, I’d probably reduce the amount of desiccated coconut or add a few teaspoons of water or milk.

Preparation:

Firstly, pour the flour, baking powder, salt and vanilla powder into a bowl.

In another bowl, whisk together the margarine and the sugar until the mass is foamy. Then, add the egg and whisk again until the egg has been completely incorporated.

Moist, and fluffy, the perfect combination
Moist, and fluffy, the perfect combination

Mash the bananas in a third bowl, and mix well with the grated coconut.

Next, add the banana-coconut mash to the bowl with the margarine, sugar and egg, and mix well.

Lastly, sieve the flour mixture on top of the rest, and fold in carefully. Don’t whisk or beat, just fold in until the flour mixture has blended well with the rest of the dough.

Line your cake pan with baking paper or grease and flour it.

Pour the dough into the cake pan, and even out with a spatula.

The banana coconut cake is ready in no time
The banana coconut cake is ready in no time

Bake at 180 degrees Celsius (about 356 degree Fahrenheit) for 45 minutes, or until a skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean.

I only use the bottom heat since my gas-powered oven’s top heat is an open gas flame that tends to try to turn everything to charcoal. If your oven has a setting for top and bottom heating or yours is a circulating air oven, it should work perfectly well, too.

When the cake is finished, take it out of the oven, let it rest inside the cake pan for about 5 to 10 minutes, and then remove it from the cake pan.

We enjoyed half of the cake on the same day, and I stored the rest in an airtight container in the fridge overnight. It was still perfectly moist and fluffy the next day, too.

What do you think of the combination of bananas and coconut? I’m a huge fan of coconut flavour, so this cake has immediately become one of my favourites.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I always look for new ways to use ripe bananas, so will definitely try this soon. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Thanks, dear Ronit 🙏
      My family and I enjoyed the cake very much, and when we had the last piece of it today, my husband already asked whether I had already prepared a new one. 😅

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s a great compliment! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment