Smashed Beets and Chickpeas Crostini, a delicious and colorful snack for hot days

With the hot temperatures we are having around here, and the humidity being at almost 100% most of the time, I often don’t feel too hungry, and/or also too lazy to prepare a big meal for my family.

Since I still had a can of chickpeas in my pantry, and a few fresh beets in the fridge, I decided to prepare Beet and Chickpeas Crostini for our lunch.

The preparation is pretty straightforward and easy. The only thing that consumes a bit of time is boiling the beets, but I remember that back in Europe, already boiled beets were available in supermarkets. So by buying these, that step could even be skipped, making the dish even faster to prepare. But let’s see what else I used:

Ingredients:

  • 4 medium sized red beets*
  • 1 can of boiled chickpeas (400 g net weight)
  • 3-4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 8 tablespoons vinegar**
  • 5 tablespoons sweet soy sauce (Kecap Manis)**
  • ** (Or about 3/4 cup balsamic vinegar)
  • 4 slices of toast bread (or any other thin sliced white bread)
  • 3 tablespoons virgin olive oil

Preparation:

Wash the beets and steam them for 35 to 40 minutes, until they are tender. Don’t peel them before steaming them. That way, they won’t lose much of their red colored liquid.

* If you buy already boiled beets, you can skip this step, and save a lot of time

Meanwhile, clean the skin off the chickpeas. I always clean them by hand, by rubbing each of them between my fingers, but it’s a somewhat annoying task. If anybody has a few tips on how to make it easier, go ahead, I’m all ears.

Heat the vegetable oil in a frying pan or wok, and fry the chickpeas for about 10 minutes, seasoning them with rosemary, curry powder, paprika powder, salt and pepper.

** Again, I don’t have any good balsamic vinegar available here, so I mix my own substitute with white vinegar and sweet soy sauce. If you have good balsamic vinegar available, please use that one.

Mix the vinegar and sweet soy sauce in a small pan and boil until the liquid has reduced.

Next, toast the bread slices until they are crispy on the outside to turn them into Crostini. Since I don’t have a toaster, I usually use my Crêpes pan for that, and it works amazingly well. (In Italy, we heated our house with a wood stove, its surface was an amazing toaster as well)

When the beets have finished steaming, let them cool down a bit so that they are cold enough to handle them. Peel them, and smash them into pieces with a potato smasher. Be careful as beet juice leaves terrible stains.

Distribute the beets on the Crostini, add the chickpeas on top, drizzle with the vinegar reduction and the virgin olive oil.

Serve while still warm and enjoy.

Since my husband was a bit more hungry, I added a scrambled egg to his portion.

My family liked this colorful and zesty snack very much. The slight sweetness of the beets paired perfectly with the vinegar reduction and the spices added.

How about you? What are your favorite meals or snacks on hot days?

I’m very curious to read about them in the comments.

By the way, slicing the Crostini diagonally in half, they could also make a nice appetizer.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. I sometimes need a vegan appetizer, so will definitely keep this tasty and healthy combination in mind! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Thank you. 🙏

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanooki says:

    Hehe I hear you Livia, beets can give terrible stain everywhere! That’s why I haven’t tried fresh beets yet but only canned one. And we’re talking about giving them try to our miss little smiley, but we’re scared of ruining both her clothes and ours!(she loves to blow recently🤣)

    Making crostini sounds and looks gorgeous lunch in a hot day. Makes me hungry🤤👍

    Speaking of food in hot days, we used to have cold noodles called “so-men” a lot, but as it appeared quite regular, everyone gets sick of them in the middle of summer😂 So other food I can think of as popular food in hot&humid days in Japan, we have “stamina bowl” which consisted of okra, natto(fermented soy beans), kimchi, sticky yam potato, raw tuna, and raw egg yolk o the top. The sauce is a mix of soy sauce and sesame oil. The bowl gets messy but it’s good and absolutely energy boost food!😋 Here is the US, many people love to do BBQ🍖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Ouch, yes, I absolutely agree with you. Babies exploring foods for the first time and beets are a somewhat very dangerous combination. 😆
      I still remember when I tried to feed my son carrot purée for the first time. Back then, he didn’t like it and just spit it everywhere. 😵‍💫 It was such a mess! 🤯

      Thanks for sharing these interesting Japanese foods. The stamina bowl sounds very interesting, except for the raw ingredients, which I would skip because they’re just too risky around here. 😬

      We actually often BBQ in this hot weather too, but sometimes, even standing outside, next to our grill is too hot. 🥵

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tanooki says:

        Ah yes! I totally forgot about “raw food”! I would avoid using raw egg on top either. A lot of people warned me🤣

        I hear you about BBQ grill!😂 My mom used to say it’s a great work out space without actually doing exercise!!💪

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Livia says:

        Oh yes, BBQ can be a real workout, especially with the temperatures we have around here. 🥵

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment