My version of a Schnitzelsemmel or Chicken Katsu Ciabatta Sandwich

Since all members of my family have been sick, one after another, the last few weeks have been quite challenging. Especially as far as meal preparations were concerned. I don’t know how it is with you and your family members, but in mine, when one has a fever, eating becomes quite a problem as the appetite is almost completely gone.

So when my husband, the last one who got hit by the cold, asked me if I could prepare a Schnitzelsemmel for him, it was time for me to improvise.

Schnitzelsemmel is a German sandwich, usually made with a breaded slice of pork meat, a Schnitzel, and a Semmel is normally a round, white bread roll.

Chicken Panko Ciabatta Sandwich - A delicious snack or meal
Chicken Katsu Ciabatta Sandwich – A delicious snack or meal

The ingredients I had available were a bit different from the original, so have a look at my version:

Ingredients (for 2 hungry eaters):

  • 2 ciabatta breads
  • A few salad/lettuce leaves per person
  • Mayonnaise and Ketchup (and other sauces) to taste
  • 1 entire, deboned chicken breast (without skin, about 500 g + Ingredients of my Chicken Katsu Recipe)
  • 4 cheese slices

Preparation:

Slice both of the chicken breasts into 3 slices, and prepare them according to my Chicken Katsu Recipe.

Cut the ciabatta breads in half, to make sandwiches out of them, and toast the side where you cut in a pan so that it becomes crispy.

Spread the sauces on the bottom side of the sandwiches.

Wash the salad/lettuce leaves, pat them dry with a kitchen towel, and arrange them on top of the sauces.

Place the still slightly warm Chicken Katsu on top of the lettuce leaves, and drape the cheese slices on top of them.

If you like, you can melt the cheese slices slightly with a blow torch, but be careful with that.

Last, but not least, place the top parts of the ciabatta bread on top of the cheese slices.

Serve and enjoy!

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Your fried chicken sandwich looks so tasty. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Thanks, dear Ronit. 🙏😍
      We enjoyed it very much. 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanooki says:

    The sandwich looks incredibly yummy!! 👀✨I’m relieved I’m looking at it from the other end of screen, otherwise I’d start fighting with your husband over that yummy looking sandwich🤣

    I’m sorry to hear you guys got cold one after another…has everyone gotten better yet?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Thank you very much for your kind comment, dear Tanooki. 😍 I’m very happy that you liked my sandwich 💕

      Luckily, we’re all back to normal already. 😊
      But with the hot and humid weather and the sudden downpours around here, one has to be very careful not to catch a cold again. 😬

      Like

Leave a comment