Giving your Spareribs the perfect Tan and Taste with my homemade BBQ Spareribs Marinade

When we passed in front of the pork meat seller this morning, he had fresh spareribs hanging in his stall. They looked so amazing that my husband and I just couldn’t resist buying them for our barbecue.

Since I don’t like to use ready made seasonings and sauces, because the producers always put stuff like thickeners, colorants or other unnecessary and sometimes even harmful ingredients inside their products, I decided to prepare our own barbecue marinade sauce from scratch.

Delicious, marinated Spareribs on the grill
Delicious Spareribs on the grill

Here are the ingredients I used. As usual, since we’re relying on local products, the sweet soy sauce added a particular Asian touch to it.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cups ketchup
  • 1/2 cup kecap manis (sweet Soy Sauce)
  • 1/2 cup vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 tablespoons oil
  • 1 tablespoon mustard (creamy one, not the one with the seeds)
  • 6 tablespoons brown sugar (if you don’t have any brown sugar available, regular one should be oke, too)
  • Pepper, chili powder

Preparation:

Pour all the ingredients in the cup of your (immersion) blender, and mix well.

Place your spareribs inside a sealable container and distribute the marinade on top of them.

Mix well, close the box with its lid, and let everything marinate for a few hours inside the fridge.

The grilling spareribs have a beautiful dark tan
The grilling spareribs have a beautiful dark tan

Take the box out of your fridge at least 20 minutes before you want to place the spareribs on your grill, so that they can come to room temperature.

Grill the ribs until they are well done, and enjoy!

My family absolutely loved the ribs. Not only because of the great quality of the meat, but also because of the sauce.

When I had given them a bit of the marinade to taste before marinating the meat, they had been worried that the sourness of the vinegar could be slightly too strong, but that completely vanished during the grilling, and the balance of sour and sweet was just perfect.

Have you ever prepared your own barbecue sauce? Or do you mix other sauces/seasonings yourself instead of buying the ready made ones?

Feel free to share your experiences and preferences in the comments. I’m always looking forward to reading from you.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Drooling in front of the screen!

    Homemade sauces are always better, as we cam adjust them to our personal taste. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Thanks a lot for this great feedback 🙏🤩
      Yes, indeed, it’s always more delicious and often also healthier to opt for the homemade sauces. 🤩

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tanooki says:

    The spareribs look gorgeous! I like to experiment sauce as homemade, so I think I gotta try your version too👀✨

    So I have question about sweet soy sauce. Do you think I can substitute it with regular soy sauce and sugar/honey? I haven’t tried them yet but I wonder how big the difference is between soy sauce and kecap manis🤔

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Livia says:

      Thanks a lot for your kind comment, dear Tanooki. 🙏🤩
      Sure, since kecap manis is sweet soy sauce, it shouldn’t be a problem at all. I’d maybe heat the soy sauce, dissolve the sugar in it, and let it thicken a bit. Then it should be pretty close to sweet soy sauce. 😊👍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Tanooki says:

        Oh wow how interesting!I’ll try❤️

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment